The Cupnoodles Museum

Posted: 2013/02/18 in Fun

On Sunday February 17, 2013 I went to the CupNoodleMuseum in Yokohama.  My mom bought the tickets and to go through the gate we had to scan it on a machine.  I went inside a room with a timeline of when the different types of cup noodles were sold for the first time.  There were so many different types of noodles!  After that we went into a small theater to watch a movie about Momofuku Ando, the inventor of the cup noodle.  An animation character of Momofuku Ando introduced how he invented instant noodles when he was 40 years old.  In the movie he gave hints of how he was successful in making noodles.  His advice was to always be on the lookout for new ideas, never give up, think different and make ideas.

Mr. Ando at the age of 95 years even invented noodles for the astronauts to eat in outer space.  In the museum there were different room exhibits about light and camera tricks which create illusions.  After seeing the exhibits we went to the noodle factory.  First I got a cup from the vending machine.  We then sat down to decorate the outside of the cup with our own custom designs and drawings.  I drew some pictures on the outside of the cup then I gave my cup to the assembly line workers.  There the cup was filled with noodles and ingredients.  A machine sealed the cover and wrapped the whole cup.  At the end I placed my own cup noodle inside an airbag.

For lunch we went to a restaurant inside the museum which serves different types of noodles from the whole world.  I chose pasta from Italy, my mom selected phu from Vietnam and tom yum goong from Thailand.  Dad ate fried noodles from Indonesia and lagman noodle from Kazakhstan.  All the different types of noodles were delicious.  After eating lunch I had the chance to visit the playground inside the museum.  I enjoyed the part where there is a huge upside down noodle cup and inside of it there is something spinning all around and it makes you feel like you are the one spinning.  I really enjoyed visiting the CupNoodleMuseum!  The next day for lunch I got to eat the cup of noodles I had designed. It was delicious!

DSCN1918DSCN1866DSCN1880DSCN1917DSCN1861DSCN1867DSCN1913DSCN1885DSCN1888DSCN1891DSCN1898DSCN1903DSCN1951DSCN1955DSCN1927DSCN1931DSCN1937DSCN1943DSCN1948

Leave a Reply

